Facebook users sometimes make the decision to deactivate their Facebook accounts. This is still a better option compared to deleting it because it is temporary and you can decide to resume using your account if you want to have full access to your previous information even though this subjected to a particular number of days.
To deactivate your Facebook account does not imply you’re fully deleting your account because that would permanently erase all existing records on your Facebook account. When you deactivate a Facebook account, all your settings, photos and information will be saved by Facebook in case you decide to reactivate it and resume your full activities on your Facebook account just like before it was deactivated.
Deactivation of Facebook account mostly occurs when people are not sure if they want to stop using the platform permanently but want to take a break from social media. This way, posts on your timeline won’t be visible anymore to your friends and your profile will also disappear.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account: Steps/Procedures
How to deactivate your Facebook account when you’re ready to take a temporary break from social media is not something difficult to do at all. You can follow the few steps to successfully deactivate your Facebook account:
- Go to your Facebook page.
- Scroll down to the bottom and click on settings and privacy.
- Under your Facebook information, click on account of ownership and control.
- Click on deactivation and deletion.
- Select deactivate the account and click continue to account deactivation.
- Finally follow the instructions given to confirm deactivation.
You can follow the steps above to deactivate your Facebook account. Note: You have to be aware that if you choose to keep your messenger active or you’re logged into messenger when your Facebook account is deactivated then your Facebook messenger will still remain active.
Can I Re-activate my Facebook Account After Deactivating it? Check Now
If you deactivate your Facebook account and you feel you have been on a break long enough, of course, your account can be easily reactivated within fourteen days after it has been deactivated but after 14 days you won’t be able to recover your account because it would have been deleted permanently and you won’t be able to access it again. You can follow the straight forward steps below to reactivate your Facebook account if you’re still within the 14 days period:
- Ensure your device is connected to an active internet.
- Visit your preferred browser
- On the search bar, type Facebook.com
- Using the same password and email address you used before activating Facebook, log in to your Facebook account.
- Your account will be reactivated instantly.
- You can then make any important changes you want to Facebook settings.
After you deactivate your Facebook account, reactivating your Facebook within the 14 days period is not something difficult at all for you do, the steps above are very quick and easy for you to understand and follow through to successfully reactivate and resume the use of your Facebook account.