The internet, especially social media platforms is a large space to explore which looks to make the world smaller as it connects people with others from different parts of the world. Facebook is at the top of the list of these social media platform because it is considered as the most popular of them all. However, the buzz from social media as a whole can get a little too much and as such you may want to take a break or even permanently deactivate your account.
Deactivating Facebook account permanently also called permanently deleting a Facebook account is quite different from taking a break or temporarily deactivating your account in the sense that in the case of the latter, you can always come back to reactivate your Facebook account but for permanent deactivation, you have no recovery option. What you have is a 30 days break (formerly 2 weeks) which you can change your mind and after this period your Facebook account will be permanently deleted.
What Happens When You Deactivate Facebook Account Permanently
Before you go ahead to deactivate your Facebook account permanently you have to be certain that that is what you want to do because once the 30 days grace period elapses, you can no more retrieve any deleted data. Below are the things that happen when you permanently deactivate your Facebook account;
- Your profile, videos, post, photos and every other upload you have made on Facebook are permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved.
- Facebook Messenger will no longer be accessible to you since you basically have no Facebook account.
- Your Facebook Login will not be able to gain you access to other accounts which you may have used to sign up for such as Pinterest, Instagram, Audiomack etc and as such you will have to contact the websites or app to regain access into your account.
- After deleting your account, messages you sent to friends may still be visible to them because copies of messages you sent to your friend are also stored in your friend’s inbox.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account Permanently
You may want to login to download copies of your information such as photos, video or posts from your Facebook account one last time before you permanently deactivate your account. However, once you are certain you do not need to retrieve any copy of the information from your account you can begin the deletion or permanent deactivation process. Below are the steps to deactivate Facebook account permanently;
- Click on the hamburger menu at the top right of any Facebook page
- Scroll down and tap “Settings”
- Scroll to the Your Facebook Information section and click on “Account Ownership and Control”
- Tap “Deactivation and Deletion”
- Click on “Continue to Account Deletion”
- Then select “Delete Account”
It should be noted that it takes up to 90 days from the commencement of the deletion to delete all the things you have posted on your account. However, while this process is ongoing, no information is accessible to other people on Facebook. Copies of the deleted information may remain in the apps backup storage after the 90 days deletion process for recovery in the event of a disaster, data loss or software error. It may also keep your information for things such as harm prevention efforts, terms violation or legal issues.